Masaryk University (MU) is a public, non-profit educational and research organisation, founded in 1919 as the second Czech university in Brno, South Moravian Region. At present it comprises nine faculties and 2 university institutes with over 200 departments, institutes and clinics, more than 37 000 students and 4500 staff, making it the second largest university in the Czech Republic. The long term aim of Masaryk University is to profile itself as a research university with an internationally respected research programme, distinct profile and research results visible in European context, a university actively involved in international collaboration both on European and global level.

The Central European Institue of Technology (CEITEC) at Masaryk University was established in 2009 as an independent institute focused solely on research. Since 2011, it operates as part of the CEITEC consortium consisting of four leading Brno universities and two research institutes who joined forces in order to establish a supraregional centre of scientific excellence combining life sciences, advanced materials and nanotechnologies. CEITEC comprises 7 research programmes (Advanced Nanotechnologies and Microtechnologies, Advanced Materials, structural Biology, Genomics and Proteomics of Plant Systems, Molecular Medicine, Brain and Mind Research, Molecular Veterinary Medicine) and 10 core facilities (Nanofabrication and Nanocharacterization, Structural Analysis Laboratory, Biomolecular Interactions and Crystallization, X-ray Diffraction and Bio-SAXS Core Facility, Nanobiotechnology Core Facility, Josef Dadok National NMR Centre, Cryo-electron Microscopy and Tomography, Proteomics Core Facility, Genomics Core Facility, Multimodal and Functional Imaging Laboratory), with a total of 60 research groups.

The University of Vienna (UNIVIE) is a public, non-profit educational research institution. Founded in 1365 the University of Vienna is one of the oldest German-speaking universities. With more than 90.000 enrolled students, the University of Vienna is also the largest German speaking University.

The Max F. Perutz Laboratories (MFPL) are located on the Campus Vienna Biocenter, Austria’s largest biotech campus. The MFPL are a joint venture of both the Medical University and the University of Vienna and thus house more than 50 independent research groups from both Universities in one building. The aim of the MFPL is to foster biomedical research at the highest level and to provide high-tech infrastructure to the researchers on campus. The Vienna Biocenter Campus also holds the Boehringer Ingelheim funded Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP), the Gregor Mendel Institute (GMI) for plant research as well as the Institute of Molecular Biotechnology (IMBA), both operated by the Austrian Academy of Sciences. Additionally, the Campus Support Facility (CSF) provides state-of-the-art research technology ranging from Biocomputing, over protein purification and NGS analysis, to mouse phenotyping. Besides developing of new technologies, MFPL also focuses on provision of high-end student and post-doctoral training is, allowing the involved researchers to tackle upcoming challenges of modern biology and to gain competitive knowledge for their future careers. MFPL encourages strong collaborative research and training networks on campus. Also, researchers at the MFPL have tight links with leading research institutions world-wide allowing rapid exchange of technologies.

The Université Grenoble Alpes (UGA) located in the middle of the Rhône-Alpes region, 2nd French region in terms of research activities. UGA was created January 1st, 2016, from the merger of three Grenoble universities: Joseph Fourier University (UJF) ) with expertise in Science and Technology and Health Sciences, Pierre Mendes France University (UPMF) with departments in Human and Social Sciences, and Stendhal University with departments in Arts, Literature and Languages. UGA is a research intensive university in an international and high tech environment. 40 000 students and 3 700 PhD students (with almost half from abroad) study at the campus.

Centre de Recherche sur les Macromolécules Végétales (CERMAV) is a multidisciplinary institute founded in1966 under supervision of The National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS). It is devoted to all aspects of the fundamental and applied science of Glycosciences. It has an international recognition in this domain with strong and multidisciplinary expertise that spans from chemistry, physical-chemistry, and biology to material sciences.

The Institut de Biologie Structurale (IBS) is a research centre in structural biology, a field that is essential for understanding fundamental biological mechanisms. The IBS possesses cutting edge facilities and hosts visiting scientists and students. The Institute employs approximately 270 people and comprises sixteen groups and performs interdisciplinary research at the interface of biology, physics and chemistry. Research at the IBS is focused on the structure-function relationship of proteins, with particular emphasis on human health related problems.

The University of East Anglia (UEA) is an internationally renowned university based in a campus that provides top quality academic, social and cultural facilities to over 15,000 students. The campus is located in 320 acres of rolling parkland just three kilometres from the centre of Norwich, which is a cathedral city and England’s first UNESCO City of Literature. UEA is a leading member of the Norwich Research Park, one of Europe's biggest concentrations of researchers in the fields of environment, health and life sciences. Strong collaborative research links are in place across the Norwich Research Park. Researchers involved in the collaboration work at the biology-chemistry interface and have expertise in applying biophysical chemistry, medicinal chemistry and synthetic biology approaches to study macromolecular interactions.

The Faculty of Scienceis one of the largest faculties within UEA and its focus on interdisciplinary collaboration across UEA and with its partner institutes on the Norwich Research Park is a great strength. Its research addresses many of society’s Grand Challenges, as well as tackling key questions in fundamental discovery science. There are six Schools in the Faculty of Science, which are committed to providing an intellectually challenging learning experience within a supportive educational environment. Each School teaches and conducts research in a range of discipline specific areas as well as offering multi-disciplinary teaching programmes. The Centre for Molecular and Structural Biochemistry is a multi-disciplinary biomolecular research centre based in the Schools of Chemistry, Biological Sciences and Pharmacy. This Centre brings together scientists working at the interface between biology and chemistry in an environment that enables complementary expertise to be applied to important biological problems.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 692068.
Disclaimer: This website and included materials reflect only the author’s view and the Research Executive Agency is not responsible for any use that may be made of the information it contains.